Get HSTS headerGet HSTS header NEW ZEALAND Banking Company | The Community Archive
Last updated: 2 June 2009

NEW ZEALAND Banking Company

Collection | Held by Bank of New Zealand Archives

What is it?


NEW ZEALAND Banking Company


NEW ZEALAND Banking Company

Level of description:




Former NRAM reference number:



The New Zealand Banking Company was established on 1 September 1840 at Kororareka in the Bay of Islands. The first Directors were Gilbert Mair, Edward Marsh Williams, Henry Thompson, James Reddy Clendon, Daniel Pollen, John Scott, William Mayhew, Philo Bebe Perry. Its headquarters were removed to Auckland in 1842. In 1845 it was decided to wind up the Company but the final return of capital was not paid until 2 February 1850.


Dates covered:

1841 - 1846

Access conditions:

Access not available, 1999/2000

Finding aids:

Series list

Tell us more

If you have additional information about this Collection please tell us about it by adding comments on the summary tab.

0 comments have been added so far.

Associated with:


Auckland · Northland (Region)


We welcome suggestions from the public on these keywords / tags. If you feel some are incorrect or missing please make suggestions here.

Login or register to tag items