Get HSTS headerGet HSTS header Waikato United Council | The Community Archive
Last updated: 2 June 2009

Waikato United Council

Collection | Ref # 2005/09 | Held by Hamilton City Libraries

What is it?


Waikato United Council


Waikato United Council

Level of description:



0.65 linear metres

Reference number:


Former NRAM reference number:



Records / Waikato United Council.

Administrative History:

In September 1977 the Local Government Commission gave public notice of a provisional scheme to create a Waikato Region under the Local Government Act 1974. The proposed region would extend from the Mokau River in the south to the Coromandel in the north. Objections were made to the original scheme and the region as finally adopted extended to the mouth of the Waikato river but did not include the Thames/Coromandel district.

The Waikato Region Constitution Order 1980 was gazetted on 2 October 1980 and came into force on 14 October 1980. The new region included Raglan County, Waikato County, Waipa County, Hamilton City, Matamata County, the Boroughs of Huntly, Ngaruawahia, Cambridge, Te Awamutu, Matamata, Putaruru and Tokoroa, Otorohanga District and Waitomo District, a total area of 13,202.3 square kilometres. The Council for the region was to be a United Council called the Waikato United Council. It consisted of 16 members, three appointed by the Hamilton City Council and one by each of the other constituent councils. Within six months of its first meeting the new Council took over the functions and activities of the Hamilton Regional Planning Authority. Its two primary functions were regional planning and civil defence, while Hamilton City Council carried out its administrative functions. By 1989, its last year of operation, the WUC had committees for regional planning, civil defence, regional government, and the Waikato Regional Development Board, together with sub-committees for specific matters.

On 1 November 1989, as a result of local government reorganisation and amalgamation under the Local Government Act 1989, the WUC was merged with several other local authorities to form the Waikato Regional Council (later to be known as Environment Waikato.) The WRC is responsible for an area of approximately 25,000 square kilometres, consisting of Thames Valley/Coromandel and the entire catchment of the Waikato River from the Bombay Hills to Lake Taupo

Scope Note: Records consist of administrative files, minutes, newsletters and reports.

Contents : Waikato United Council file index -- Minutes; 1980-1989 -- Admin files; 1980-1990 -- Local Government Legal Appeal -- Forum on the Reform of Local and Regional Government -- Rural Issues [forum?] -- Extracts from Newsletters -- History of Regional Reserves Committee.

Location note: Shelved at M35 B1 S5-6.


Dates covered:

1980 - 1990

Access conditions:

Not restricted

Finding aids:

Inventory available

Tell us more

If you have additional information about this Collection please tell us about it by adding comments on the summary tab.

0 comments have been added so far.

Associated with:


Waikato region

People & organisations:

We welcome suggestions from the public on these keywords / tags. If you feel some are incorrect or missing please make suggestions here.

Login or register to tag items