Get HSTS headerGet HSTS header Trust Bank NZ Ltd | The Community Archive
Last updated: 2 June 2009

Trust Bank NZ Ltd

Collection | Held by Westpac New Zealand Archive

What is it?


Trust Bank NZ Ltd


Trust Bank NZ Ltd

Level of description:



over 100 linear metres

Former NRAM reference number:



Trust Bank had its beginnings in 1986 with the formation of the holding company Trustee Holdings limited. formed by the following trustee savings banks: Waikato, Bay of Plenty, Eastern & Central, Wanganui, Wellington, Canterbury, South Canterbury, Otago, Southland. Later in 1996 nine of the savings banks formed the company Trust Bank NZ ltd.

The banks' former companies were: Trustee Bank Holdings Ltd (private company) (1986-1988) Trust Bank New Zealand (public company) (1988-1995), Trust Bank New Zealand Ltd (re-registered with nine amalgamated companies) (1995-1996) Trustee Bank Holdings Ltd (1986-1988)

Trust Bank AucklandWaikato Savings Bank (1959-1983)

Trustee Bank Waikato (1984-1986)

Trust Bank Waikato (1987-1996)

Invercargill Savings Bank (1864-1962)

Southland Savings Bank (1964-1983)

Trustee Bank Southland (1984-1986)

Trust Bank Southland (1987-1996)

Canterbury Savings Bank (1962-1964)

CanterburySavings Bank (1964-1984)

Trustee Bank Canterbury (1984-1986)

Trust Bank Canterbury (1987-1996)

Wellington Savings Bank (1964-1983)

Trustee Bank Wellington (1984-1986)

Trust Bank Wellington (1987-1996)

Hawkes Bay Savings Bank (1962-1964)

Hawkes Bay and Gisborne Savings Bank (1964-1972)

Manawatu Wairarapa Saving Bank (1963-1972)

Eastern and Central Savings Bank (1973-1983)

Eastern and Central Trustee Bank (1984-1986)

Trust Bank Eastern and Central (1987-1996)

South Canterbury Savings Bank (1964-1984)

Trustee Bank South Canterbury (1984-1986)

Trust Bank South Canterbury (1987-1996)

Trust Bank Bay of Plenty (1987-1996)

Bay of Plenty Trustee Bank (1984-1986)

Trust Bank Otago (1987-1996)

Trustee Bank Otago (1984-1986)

Otago Savings Bank (1964-1984)

Dunedin Savings Bank (1864-1964)

Bay of Plenty Savings Bank (1964-1983)

Westpac purchased Trust Bank in November 1996 and formed WestpacTrust. See separate entries.


Dates covered:

1986 - 1996

Access conditions:

Some restrictions. Access to comply with the Bank's Archive policy.

Finding aids:

Series descriptions (Lotus Notes and Word), Accession Register (paper and electronic (Excell))

Tell us more

If you have additional information about this Collection please tell us about it by adding comments on the summary tab.

0 comments have been added so far.

Associated with:


Auckland · Lake Wairarapa · Nelson · Poverty Bay · Wellington · Northland (Region) · Westland District · Central Hawke's Bay District · Manawatu-Wanganui · Marlborough (Region) · Otago Region · Southland · Taranaki · Canterbury · Bay of Plenty · Waikato


We welcome suggestions from the public on these keywords / tags. If you feel some are incorrect or missing please make suggestions here.

Login or register to tag items