Administration Guide

Table of Contents

Background

About this document

This manual is intended for archiving institutions and individuals who have registered to contribute information about their holdings to The Community Archive. The manual will provide guidelines and examples on how to complete each of the fields made available to describe a contributor and its holdings. Although only a small number of fields are mandatory, a much wider range of recommended fields has been made available for your use where you have the data available. These are described in this document.

Each field is described using the following descriptors:

  • Purpose – of this field.
  • Type of field – defines whether it is free text, a dropdown list, a tick box or other, and the size of the field in characters.
  • Optional / mandatory – defines whether this field must be completed or not.
  • Rules and examples provides instructions and examples of how to complete the field.
  • ISDIAH or ISAD(G) reference – provides a reference to the applicable section within the relevant ICA standards (see next section, Overview of The Community Archive Structure and Standards Used for more information). This will be either the ISDIAH standard for describing institutions with archival holdings, or the ISAD(G) standard for describing archives, where applicable.

Making it easy

Wherever possible our aim is been to make contributing as easy as possible for you, by providing:

  • Data values for your selection wherever possible i.e. using dropdown lists, tick boxes etc.
  • Help text next to each field (see the icon)
  • Clear identification of mandatory fields
  • Instructional text and examples where required
  • This manual

However, should you require further assistance please contact the The Community Archive Advisor:

Phone: TBD

Email: TBD

Overview of The Community Archive Structure and Standards Used

A standards-based approach

The way contributors and their holdings are described in The Community Archive is based on the standards prescribed by the International Council for Archives, www.ica.org. The two standards that The Community Archive incorporates elements from are:

  • ISAD(G): General International Standard Archival Description, Second edition, 1999
  • ISDIAH: International Standard for Describing Institutions with Archival Holdings, First Edition, 2008
  • As well as incorporating metadata elements recommended in these international standards, The Community Archive provides a number of value-adding and New Zealand-specific fields that can be used to further enrich the information you provide about yourself and your holdings.

Overview of archive structure

Levels of descriptions used in The Community Archive

We have designed The Community Archive to be a simple and pragmatic implementation of the multilevel description technique set out in the ISAD(G) standard. The standard provides a set of elements which can be used to describe a unit of description at any level, whether it be a fonds, collection, sub-collection, a series, item and so on. For the purposes of The Community Archive we have limited the levels to Collection, Series, and Item. The general rules around the use of these levels are as follows:

  • All items must belong to either a collection or series. In other words, you must first create a series or collection within The Community Archive before adding items. This is both to provide some context for the item, and to help with discovery.
  • Whether you create collections or series is up to you, and will depend on whether you use the series-based descriptive system or are collections-based.
  • Describe from the general to the specific. At the collection level give information about the collection as a whole, and at the item level only provide information that is unique to the item.
  • Provide information relevant to the level of description i.e. do not provide detailed item content information at the collection level, or provide a detailed archival history of a collection at item level.
  • Non-repetition of information – at the collection or series level give information that is common to the items belonging to it. Do not repeat information at the item level that has already been provided at the collection or series level.

What to include in The Community Archive

All manuscript and archive collections significant to New Zealand may be added to the register. They do not necessarily need to be located in New Zealand.

Collections may contain material such as:

  • correspondence
  • diaries
  • oral history recordings
  • files
  • commissions
  • deeds
  • petitions
  • wills
  • account books
  • financial records
  • minutes of meetings
  • birth, death and marriage certificates and/or registers
  • maps
  • ship registers
  • log books
  • passenger lists
  • literary manuscripts and typescripts
  • photographs and photograph albums
  • audio and videotapes
  • computer disks

…in fact, anything that has been deemed to have permanent value. Publications such as books, newspapers, magazines, etc. are generally not regarded as archives (except when they form a part of a larger ‘group’ or ‘fonds’).

Copies (for instance microfilm and photocopies) may also be included, so long as the institution concerned is responsible for maintaining information about the location of the original item.

If youre unsure whether The Community Archive is suitable for registering or managing your collection, feel free to get in touch with the The Community Archive Advisor to discuss this.

Describing you as a contributor – the fields

Overview of fields

The following fields are mandatory when describing a contributor:

  • Name
  • Contributor type
  • Archive types held
  • Physical or postal address
  • Region
  • District

The following fields are optional but recommended.

  • Other name
  • Description about organisation and collections held
  • Research services
  • Reproduction services
  • Opening hours
  • Parking info
  • Physical access
  • Contact person(s) / email
  • Postal address
  • Phone number
  • Fax number
  • Web site
  • Organisational logo
  • Organisation photo
Name
Purpose

To record your organisation’s authorised name, or if contributing as an individual, your own name.

Type of field

Free text, 128 characters.

Optional / mandatory Mandatory
Rules and examples
  • If you are acting on behalf of an organisation, this field refers to your organisations name. Record the standardised form of name of your organisation.
  • If you contributing to The Community Archive as an individual, your name should be in the following format:

    Last Name, First Name

    For example:

    Hall, Roger

ISDIAH reference

5.1.2 Authorised form(s) of name

Other name
Purpose

To indicate any alternative or parallel names your organisation may have. For example you would use this if you have an alternative name in another language, a commonly-used acronym, or a previous name.

Type of field

Free text, 128 characters.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Use this field if your organisation has, or has had, another name, for example:

    Tāmaki Pātaka Kōrero (Auckland City Library’s parallel name)

  • The other name may be in another language, an acronym, or may be a previous name (in which case include dates if possible). For example:

    National Archives of New Zealand, 1954-2000 (Archives New Zealand’s former name)

ISDIAH reference

5.1.3 Parallel form(s) of name

Parent organisation
Purpose

- To indicate your organisation's 'parent organisation' if it has one

Type of field

- Free text, 128 characters.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples

-

ISDIAH reference

Not applicable.

Description about organisation and collections held
Purpose

To provide a concise description about your organisation, family or individual and your archival holdings. This description will appear at the top of your public profile.

Type of field

Free text, 500 characters.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples

Provide a brief description of your organisation and collections held.

The description may include reference to the:

  • History of the organisation – include dates of establishment, changes of names etc.
  • Holdings – provide a profile of your holdings, describing how and when they were formed.
  • Geographical and cultural context – include the geographical area that your organisation belongs to
  • Mandates / sources of authority – record any document, law, directive or charter which acts as a source of authority for the powers, functions and responsibilities of your organisation
  • Administrative structure – describe the current administrative structure of your organisation
  • Buildings – record general and architectural characteristics of the building, capacity of storage areas etc. For example:

    The Taranaki History Centre was opened in 1998 and was designed to provide the best possible conditions for preservation and public access, and to be a focus for promoting awareness and understanding of Taranaki’s history. The building was designed by Smith Consultants Ltd.
     

ISDIAH reference

5.3.1 History of the institution with archival holdings 5.3.2 Geographical and cultural context 5.3.3 Mandates/sources of authority 5.3.4 Administrative structure 5.3.7 Archival and other holdings

Contributor type
Purpose

To identify the type of contributor.

Type of field

Multi-select dropdown list. Possible types are:

  • Business/ industry
  • Educational institution
  • Genealogical society
  • Hapū organisation
  • Historical society
  • Individual
  • Iwi organisation
  • Local authority
  • Museum or art gallery
  • Special/ research library or institution
  • Voluntary organisation
  • Whānau organisation
  • Public library
  • Religious organisation
  • Other  
Optional / mandatory Mandatory
Rules and examples
  • If you are contributing as an Individual, select ‘Individual’.
  • If multiple types apply to your organisation, select multiple values.
ISDIAH reference

5.1.5 Type of institutions with archival holdings

Archive types held
Purpose

To identify the types of archives held by a contributor.

Type of field

Free text field, 128 characters.

Optional / mandatory Mandatory
Rules and examples
  • The title helps researchers to understand what the series or collection is, and what contains.
  • If the series or collection has a meaningful formal title, then use this. A formal title might be the name given to the records by their creator, or a well known name that has been used to cite the records in publications. For example:

    Eastbourne Soccer Club AGM minutes

  • If a formal title exists but it will not help researchers to understand the series or collection, then modify or supplement it. Additions should be to a formal title should be placed in square brackets. For example:

    Register of Permission [to attend Manawatu School camp]

  • If the series or collection does not have a formal title, then make one up. Made up titles should be as full of meaning as possible, to help researchers discover and understand the records. They should give information about the function or purpose of the records. For example:

    New Plymouth Bowling Club promotional posters

  • Avoid vague titles. For example:

    General Papers

    Miscellaneous files

ISDIAH reference

3.1.2 Title

Research services
Purpose

To describe the research services provided by the contributor.

Type of field

Free text, 255 characters.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Record information about the services provided such as languages spoken by staff, research and consultation rooms, enquiry services, internal libraries, map, microfiches, audio visual, computer rooms etc. For example:

    The search room at the Taranaki History Centre contains a local studies library; seating and table space for 24 researchers; microform readers for 30 researchers and large tables for consultation of maps. The Centre has a large conference room, which can be divided into two using an acoustic screen. The conference room is fully equipped with the latest audio-visual technology for showing videos and computer generated resources.

  • Record as well any relevant information about research services, such as research undertaken, and the fee charge if applicable. For example:

    The Centre offers, free of charge, advice and information about their archive and local studies collections, including supplying copies from catalogues and finding aids created by the Centre.

ISDIAH reference

5.5.1 Research services_Toc230510667

Reproduction services
Purpose

To provide information about reproduction services.

Type of field

Free text, 255 characters.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Record information about reproduction services available to the public – microfilms, photocopies, photographs, digitised copies. Specify general conditions and restrictions to the services including applicable fees and publication rules. For example:

    Hutt University Archives provide a limited photocopying service for archives and special collections. Photocopies can be supplied if the original is in good condition and is subject to copyright law, for individuals engaged in private study or research for a non-commercial purpose. Researchers should pick the most important documents for their research, rather than requesting entire files and sequences of documents for photocopying. Where items are too fragile or unwieldy for photocopying, digital photographs may be supplied instead; please consult staff for details.

ISDIAH reference

5.5.2 Reproduction services

Charges
Purpose

To inform visitors of specific fees that may be charged for access and/or services offered by your organisation.

Type of field

If you charge for any of your services or for entry to your archives, you can use this field to give visitors a broad indication of what costs may be incurred.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Use this field to let potential visitors know which services are cost-incurring and what the charges are. for example:

    Entry is free. Photocopying is available at 10 cents per page.
ISDIAH reference

Not applicable.

Opening hours
Purpose

To provide information about opening times and dates of closures.

Type of field

Free text, 255 characters.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Record the opening hours and annual, seasonal and public holidays, and any other planned closures.
  • Describe times associated with the availability and/or delivery of specific services.
ISDIAH reference

5.4.1 Opening times

Parking info
Purpose

To provide information about parking options for people visiting the institution.

Type of field

Free text, 128 characters.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Describe parking options available to visitors, including details of onsite parking, street names, payment requirements and methods, and parking for visitors with disabilities.
ISDIAH reference

5.4.3 Accessibility

Physical access
Purpose

To provide information about physical access to the institution.

Type of field

Free text, 255 characters.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Record information about travelling to the institution and details for users with disabilities, including building features, specialised equipment or tools, lifts etc.
  • Where appropriate and useful, include details of public transport, driving instructions, and maps.
     
ISDIAH reference

5.4.3 Accessibility

Contact person(s) / email
Purpose

To provide users with all the information needed to contact members of staff for your organisation.

Type of field

Free text fields, 64 characters per entry.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Add the role of the person(s) that The Community Archive users should contact if they have a query, optionally including the name of the person (remember you will then have to update this as staff come and go).
     
  • If possible, it is recommended you record the role and use an email address alias, for example:

    Community Archivist nramqueries@xyz.org.nz

  • This then means you will not need to change contact details on The Community Archive when there are staff changes – you can simply change the recipient for that email address alias.
  • Add multiple contact people if appropriate.
     
ISDIAH reference

5.2.3 Contact persons
5.2.2 Telephone, fax, email

Physical address
Purpose

To provide the physical address of the contributing organisation.

Type of field

Free text, 128 characters per field.

Optional / mandatory Mandatory – you must provide at least one address either physical or postal (see below).
Rules and examples
  • Enter the street and number, suburb and city where you are located.
     
ISDIAH reference

5.2.1 Location and address(es)

Postal address
Purpose

To provide a postal address of the contributing organisation.

Type of field

Free text, 128 characters per field.

Optional / mandatory Mandatory – if you don’t provide a physical address you must provide a postal address.
Rules and examples
  • Enter the street and number, suburb, city and postcode of your postal address.
ISDIAH reference

5.2.1 Location and address(es).

Region / District
Purpose

To define the geographical region and district in which your repository is located.

Type of field

Dropdown list. Region definitions are sourced from Local Government regions[1]. District definitions are sourced from the Local Government region and district boundaries[2]. Possible region values are:

Optional / mandatory Mandatory
Rules and examples

Select the region and district in which your repository is located.

ISDIAH reference

5.2.1 Location and address(es).

Phone number
Purpose

To provide a phone number which can be used to contact the contributor.

Type of field

Free text, 128 characters.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Provide the full phone number, including area code.
  • You can add multiple phone numbers as required.
  • Provide additional information such as extension numbers in the Notes field for each number.
ISDIAH reference

5.2.2 Telephone, fax, email

Fax number
Purpose

To provide a fax number which can be used to contact the contributor.

Type of field

Free text, 128 characters.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Provide the full fax number, including area code.
  • You can add multiple fax numbers as required.
  • Provide additional information such as extension numbers in the Notes field for each number.
ISDIAH reference

5.2.2 Telephone, fax, email

Website address
Purpose

To provide the website of the organisation (where it exists).

Type of field

Free text, 128 characters.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Enter the full website address (URL) of your organisations website, excluding the ‘http://’ prefix, for example:

    www.organisationname.org.nz

ISDIAH reference

5.2.1 Location and address(es).

Organisation logo
Purpose

To display your organisational logo within your profile on The Community Archive.

Type of field

Upload field

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Photos can be of anything you feel is relevant e.g. your building, your staff etc.
  • You may upload up to 3 photos.
  • Photos must be of JPEG, PNG or GIF format and should not be larger than 2Mb each.
  • Be sure to include a description of what the photo is.
ISDIAH reference

N/A

Organisation photos
Purpose

To display photos of your organisation.

Type of field

Upload field

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Photos can be of anything you feel is relevant e.g. your building, your staff etc.
  • You may upload up to 3 photos.
  • Photos must be of JPEG, PNG or GIF format and should not be larger than 2Mb each.
  • Be sure to include a description of what the photo is.
ISDIAH reference

N/A

Describing a collection or series – the fields

When to create a collection or series

All items in The Community Archive must belong to either a series or a collection. Series and collections are logical groupings of items, as per your organisations descriptive standards.

Whether you describe your archives as collections or series is your choice. How your organisation documents your archives will depend on their provenance and the type of researchers who use them. Some institutions have defined their holdings using the Series system and will therefore want to reflect this in The Community Archive.

You will probably find the fields below pretty familiar-looking and the rest of this section provides information to help you interpret them. The The Community Archive Advisor is also happy to help you map your descriptive model to the The Community Archive one.

Overview of fields

The following fields are mandatory when describing a collection or series in The Community Archive:

  • Level of description
  • Title
  • Creator
  • Dates covered

The following fields are optional:

  • Your reference number
  • Description
  • Extent
  • Language of material
  • Format if not original
  • Location of original (if this is a copy)
  • Access conditions
  • Physical characteristics
  • Archival history
  • Finding aids
  • Related links
  • Places (LINZ)
  • Other locations
  • People & organisations
  • Subjects
  • Māori subjects
  • Ethnic groups
  • Waka
  • Iwi
  • Hapū
  • Whānau
  • Tipuna
  • Awa / moana
  • Maunga
  • Keywords
  • Public tags
  • Publish to The Community Archive public site
Level of description
Purpose

To identify the unit you wish to describe. This may be a collection or a series. In The Community Archive series and collections have the same fields associated with them. However the way you fill in some fields is likely to vary depending on the system of arrangement and description used in your organisation.

Type of field

Dropdown list.

Optional / mandatory Mandatory
Rules and examples
  • Select ‘Collection’ if you are going to describe a set of items grouped together on the basis of some common characteristic(s). For example, where there is a collection of items (which may be quite disparate) with the common characteristic being that they are all from the same school.
  •   elect ‘Series’ if you are going to describe a set of items grouped together because they result from the same accumulation or filing process, or the same activity, or have a particular form. For example, where the group of items are a set of annual general meeting minutes kept for a period of years.
     
ISAAR (CPF) reference

3.1.4 Level of description

Title
Purpose

To name the series or collection.

Type of field

Free text field, 128 characters.

Optional / mandatory Mandatory
Rules and examples
  • The title helps researchers to understand what the series or collection is, and what contains.
  • If the series or collection has a meaningful formal title, then use this. A formal title might be the name given to the records by their creator, or a well known name that has been used to cite the records in publications. For example:

    Eastbourne Soccer Club AGM minutes

  • If a formal title exists but it will not help researchers to understand the series or collection, then modify or supplement it. Additions should be to a formal title should be placed in square brackets. For example:

    Register of Permission [to attend Manawatu School camp]
     

  • If the series or collection does not have a formal title, then make one up. Made up titles should be as full of meaning as possible, to help researchers discover and understand the records. They should give information about the function or purpose of the records. For example:

    New Plymouth Bowling Club promotional posters
     

  • Avoid vague titles. For example:

    General Papers

    Miscellaneous files

ISAAR (CPF) reference

3.1.2 Title

Creator
Purpose

To identify the creator(s) of the series or collection. Record the name of the organisation(s) or the individual(s) responsible for the creation, accumulation and maintenance of the records in the series or collection.

Type of field

Pick from list – field pick from existing list or add a new value(s) to the list. 64 characters.

Optional / mandatory Mandatory
Rules and examples
  • For individuals, the format should be [surname], [first names] [(year of birth – year of death)]. If either birth date or death year is unknown, leave blank. For example:

    Lucas, Helen (1931 1999)

    or

    Arculus, Arthur W., (1926- )

    or

    Amundson, Betty

  • For organisations enter the authorised name of the organisation.
  • If you don’t know who the creator is, enter ‘unknown’.
  • Add multiple creators where appropriate.
  • Avoid repetition across levels of description. For example, if you provide a creator at series level, there is no need to repeat that creator at item level.
  • Provide information relevant to the level of description. For example, a series might be created by a committee, but an individual item within it might be created by John Smith.
ISAAR (CPF) reference

3.2.1 Name of creator

Dates covered (start year and end year)
Purpose

To identify and record the date(s) covered by the collection or series.

Type of field

Validating year fields with qualifiers.

Optional / mandatory Mandatory
Rules and examples
  • Enter the date range of the collection being described, not the dates of the person or organisation which created them.
  • Enter the start and end year e.g. 1975 to 1995. Do not use days or months.
  • If the date is within a specific year, enter the year in both the end and start year fields.
  • If only start or end year is known, enter the year that is known and use the qualifier ‘unknown’ for the other value.
  • If the date range is impossible to estimate use the qualifier ‘unknown’ for both end and start year.
  • If either end or start year (or both) is an approximate value, use the ‘circa’ qualifier.
  • For retrospective or non-contemporary material (reminiscences, research notes etc.) provide the dates of writing, not the dates for the period referred to by the collection.
ISAAR (CPF) reference

3.1.3 Date(s)

Your reference number
Purpose

To identify uniquely the collection or series, using the reference number or code assigned by you as the contributor.

Type of field

Free text, 64 characters.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Enter here the reference/call number or numbers normally used to locate the item/collection within your own repository.
ISAAR (CPF) reference

3.1.1 Reference code

Description
Purpose

Gives the researcher an idea of what the collection or series holds. Summarises the context and research value or interest of the collection or series (essentially this field briefly describes why the material is in the archive).

Type of field

Free text, 500 characters.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • A brief paragraph or sentence giving summarised historical or biographical information about the person or organisation whose records are being described.
  • This field can also expand on the information given in the fields ‘record type’ and ‘dates covered’.
  • This field can be used to provide additional information about the content of the records, for example:

    “The baptism registers record details about individuals baptised at the Kawerau Anglican Church. They include the date of the baptism, the full name of the person being baptised, and the surname and initials of the parents.”
     

ISAAR (CPF) reference

3.3.1 Scope and content

Extent
Purpose

To specify the total quantity of material in the collection.

Type of field

Free text, 64 characters.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Record the extent of the collection or series, by giving the number of physical or logical units and the unit of measurements, or give the linear shelf space. For example:

    143 rolls

    or

    2.7 metres
     

  • If additional information is desirable, add the additional information in parentheses, for example:

    2.7 metres (19 boxes and 1 oversized item)

ISAAR (CPF) reference

3.1.5 Extent and medium of the unit of description

Language of material
Purpose

To identify the language(s) used in the collection or series, over and above the languages already provided at item level (if this collection/series has, or will have, items in The Community Archive).

Type of field

Multi-select dropdown list field.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Add languages here if the collection contains other languages than those provided at item level, or if you are not intending to contribute item descriptions to The Community Archive for this collection/series. Language values from items belonging to this collection will automatically be shown at collection level as well.
  • If multiple languages are used within a collection or series, use the multi-select dropdown list to select multiple languages, for example:

    English
    Māori

ISAAR (CPF) reference

3.4.3 Language / scripts of material

Format if not original
Purpose

-

Type of field

-

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples

-

ISAAR (CPF) reference
Location of original (if this is a copy)
Purpose

-

Type of field

-

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples

-

ISAAR (CPF) reference
Access conditions
Purpose

To provide information on the legal status or other regulations that restrict or affect access to the collection or series as a whole. If the conditions apply only to certain items please describe these at item level.

Note: This applies primarily to viewing the material, either in a physical or digital form. If the descriptions themselves have restricted access, use the ‘Publish to The Community Archive’ public site tick box to ensure they are not published.

Type of field

Free text, 255 characters.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Specify the law or legal status, contract, regulation or policy that affects access. For example:

    Material restricted by terms of donors deed of gift

    Access only with the permission of the Chairperson of the Marae Committee

     
  • Indicate the extent of the period of closure and the date at which the material will open when appropriate, for example:

    Patient records contain private data; records are closed for 50 years from date of creation.
     
  • If this field is left blank at collection level and at item level (for items belonging to it), it will automatically display ‘No restrictions’ when published.
  • If this field is left blank but certain items within it have access conditions, a default message will display – ‘Access conditions apply to some items – please check individual items’. You can overwrite this if you wish.
ISAAR (CPF) reference

3.4.1 Conditions governing access.

Physical characteristics
Purpose

To provide information about any important physical characteristics or technical requirements that affect use of the collection or series.

Type of field

Free text, 255 characters.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Note any software and/or hardware requirements required to access the collection or series:

    Videotapes are in 1/2 inch helical open reel-to-reel format
     
  • Describe any physical characteristics that affect the use of the unit of description:

    At least six prints have their images obscured due to time and the unstable chemical conditions within the print paper
ISAAR (CPF) reference

3.4.4 Physical characteristics and technical requirements.

Archival history
Purpose

To provide information on the history of the collection or series that is significant for its authenticity, integrity and interpretation.

Type of field

Free text, 255 characters.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Record the successive transfers of ownership, responsibility and / or custody of the collection or series and indicate those actions that have contributed to its present structure and arrangement – such as history of the arrangement, production of contemporary finding aids, and re-use of the records for other purposes. For example:

    Letters written by Herbert Whittaker and mailed to Sydney Johnson remained in the custody of Johnson until his death when they were returned/ bequeathed to Whittaker and now constitute part of his collection.

    or

    This series was consolidated from a number of partially organised and miscellaneous files transferred to the State Archives in 1979.
ISAAR (CPF) reference

3.2.3 Archival history.

Finding aids
Purpose

To identify any finding aids to the collection or series.

Type of field

Free text, 255 characters.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Note any finding aids that are available for researchers, either published or unpublished, in-house, or widely available, for example:

    A 31 page published finding aid is available. This finding aid is also available on the Web at http://www.nla.gov.au/ms/findaids/8822.html
ISAAR (CPF) reference

3.4.5 Finding aids.

Related links
Purpose

To provide links to other web-based resources providing information directly related to this collection or series.

Type of field

Web address field and free text. 64 characters.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Add a meaningful description and the full address, for example:

    History of Opotiki http://www.teara.govt.nz/Places/BayOfPlenty/BayOfPlentyPlaces/17/en
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Places (LINZ)
Purpose

To identify those places that are pertinent to the collection or series as a whole, and that may serve as access points to it. The list of places is sourced from Land Information New Zealand – the New Zealand Gazetteer of Official Geographic Names[3].

Type of field

Pick from list field – pick from existing list.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Places that you add at item level (for items belonging to this collection/series) will be automatically displayed at collection level as well, so only add places here that you have not already added (or will not be adding) at item level.
  • Select or add places of relevance, such as town, district or region of creation, or places to which the unit of description refers. For example, if the unit of description is a series of drainage plans for Timaru, add Timaru as a place.
  • You may also add geographic features or landmarks as places of relevance, for example:

    Ahuriri Railway Station

    or

    Mount Allan

    or

    Ruamahanga River
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Other locations
Purpose

To identify additional locations pertinent to the collection, that are not in the Places (LINZ) list.

Type of field

Free text.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Places that you add at item level (for items belonging to this collection/series) will be automatically displayed at collection level as well, so only add places here that you have not already added (or will not be adding) at item level.
  • Select or add places of relevance that are not in the Places list in the field above. For example the name of a school or farm or overseas locations.
  • You may also add geographic features or landmarks as places of relevance, for example:

    Gallipoli

    or

    Brooklyn School

    or

    Jackson’s Farm
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

People & organisations
Purpose

To identify people or organisations who are pertinent to the collection or series as a whole, and who may serve as access points to it.

Type of field

Pick from list field – pick from existing list or add a new value(s) to the list.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • People that you add at item level (for items belonging to this collection/series) will be automatically displayed at collection level as well, so only add people and organisations here that you have not already added (or will not be adding) at item level.
  • Ensure youve had a good look to see if the person organisation you are looking for is in the list, before making a new entry.
  • Select or add authorised names of corporate bodies (organisations), persons or families associated with the collection or series.
  • Use dates, place, jurisdiction, occupation, epithet and other qualifiers as appropriate to distinguish the authorised form of name from those of other entities with similar names, for example:

    Noel family, Earls of Gainsborough

    or

    Alcock, H. F. (Harry Frederick), 1919-2001

    or

    Christian Pacifist Society of New Zealand
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A but see also ISAAR (CPF) International Standard Archival Authority Record for Corporate Bodies, Persons and Families (see Further Reading section later in this manual)

Subjects
Purpose

To associate the collection or series with subjects that it covers. Subject values in The Community Archive are sourced from the Subjects of New Zealand (SONZ) Thesaurus[4]

Type of field

Pick from list field – pick from existing list.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Subjects that you add at item level (for items belonging to this collection/series) will be automatically displayed at collection level as well, so only add subjects here that you have not already added (or will not be adding) at item level.
  • Select subject(s) that further describe what this collection or series is about. For example: If the unit of description is a series of hospital (maternity) records, add as the subjects:

    Hospitals, maternity services
     
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Māori subjects
Purpose

To associate the collection or series with Māori subjects that it covers. Subject values in The Community Archive are sourced from the list of Māori Subject Headings[6].

Type of field

Pick from list field – pick from existing list.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Subjects that you add at item level (for items belonging to this collection/series) will be automatically displayed at collection level as well, so only add subjects here that you have not already added (or will not be adding) at item level.
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Ethnic group
Purpose

To identify ethnic groups that are pertinent to the collection or series as a whole, and that may serve as access points to it.

Type of field

Pick from list.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Ethnic groups that you add at item level (for items belonging to this collection/series) will be automatically displayed at collection level as well, so only add ethnic groups here that you have not already added (or will not be adding) at item level.
  • Select any ethnic groups that collection or series is associated with, for example:

    If the unit of description is a ship’s list with immigrants from England, Ireland and Scotland, add the ethnic groups:

    English, Irish, Scottish
     
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Waka (canoe)
Purpose

To associate the collection or series with any specific waka relevant to the unit as a whole.

Note: all Waka, Iwi and Hapū values used in The Community Archive are sourced from The Iwi Hapū Names List which was developed as part of the Māori Subject Headings Project jointly sponsored by LIANZA, Te Rōpū Whakahau and National Library of New Zealand.

Type of field

Pick from list field – pick from existing list or add a new value(s) to the list.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Waka that you add at item level (for items belonging to this collection/series) will be automatically displayed at collection level as well, so only add waka here that you have not already added (or will not be adding) at item level.
  • Select or add one or more waka that may be associated with this collection or series, for example:

    Tokomaru
     
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Iwi (tribe)
Purpose

To associate the collection or series with any specific iwi relevant to the unit as a whole (see the ‘Waka’ field for an explanation of the source of this data).

Type of field

Pick from list field – pick from existing list or add a new value(s) to the list.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Iwi that you add at item level (for items belonging to this collection/series) will be automatically displayed at collection level as well, so only add iwi here that you have not already added (or will not be adding) at item level.
  • Select or add one or more names of iwi that may be associated with this collection or series, for example:

    Ngā Rauru
     
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Hapū (sub-tribe)
Purpose

To associate the collection or series with any specific hapū relevant to it as a whole (see the ‘Waka’ field for an explanation of the source of this data).

Type of field

Pick from list field – pick from existing list or add a new value(s) to the list.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Hapū that you add at item level (for items belonging to this collection/series) will be automatically displayed at collection level as well, so only add hapū here that you have not already added (or will not be adding) at item level.
  • Select or add one or more names of hapū that may be associated with this collection or series, for example:

    Ngāti Iti
     
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Whānau (family)
Purpose

To associate the collection or series with any specific whānau relevant to the unit as a whole.

Type of field

Pick from list field – pick from existing list or add a new value(s) to the list.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Whānau that you add at item level (for items belonging to this collection/series) will be automatically displayed at collection level as well, so only add whānau here that you have not already added (or will not be adding) at item level.
  • Select or add one or more names of whānau that may be associated with this collection or series, for example:

    Ngaropo
     
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Tipuna (ancestor)
Purpose

To associate the collection or series with any specific tipuna relevant to it as a whole.

Type of field

Pick from list field – pick from existing list or add a new value(s) to the list.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Tipuna that you add at item level (for items belonging to this collection/series) will be automatically displayed at collection level as well, so only add tipuna here that you have not already added (or will not be adding) at item level.
  • Select or add one or more names of tipuna that may be associated with this collection or series, for example:

    Te Kooti Rikirangi
     
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Maunga (mountain)
Purpose

To associate the collection or series with any specific maunga relevant to it as a whole.

Type of field

Pick from list field – pick from existing list or add a new value(s) to the list.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Maunga that you add at item level (for items belonging to this collection/series) will be automatically displayed at collection level as well, so only add maunga here that you have not already added (or will not be adding) at item level.
  • Select or add one or more names of maunga that may be associated with this collection or series, for example:

    Hikurangi
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Awa / moana (river, lake or other body of water)
Purpose

To associate the collection or series with any specific awa or moana relevant to it as a whole.

Type of field

Pick from list field – pick from existing list or add a new value(s) to the list.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Awa / moana that you add at item level (for items belonging to this collection/series) will be automatically displayed at collection level as well, so only add awa / moana here that you have not already added (or will not be adding) at item level.
    Select or add one or more names of awa / moana that may be associated with this collection or series, for example:

    Wanganui / Whanganui

    or

    Hokianga
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Keywords
Purpose

To add other keywords to this collection or series, not already covered using the fields above. Adding keywords will help people find this collection or series.

Type of field

Pick from list field – pick from existing list or add a new value(s) to the list.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Keywords that you add at item level (for items belonging to this collection/series) will be automatically displayed at collection level as well, so only add keywords here that you have not already added (or will not be adding) at item level.
  • Use this field to add any other keywords that have not already been added using the other ‘associated with’ fields above. For example, names of ships or horses depicted or referred to in the content.
     
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Public tags
Purpose

To allow site visitors to add additional keywords (tags) that will help others to search for and identify this particular collection. You as the contributor can monitor and edit these tags as required.

Type of field

Pick from list field – pick from existing list or add a new value(s) to the list.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Keywords that are added at item level (for items belonging to this collection/series) will be automatically displayed at collection level as well.
  • This field is really for public use, but you can of course correct or delete tags if you feel they are wrong.
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Publish to The Community Archive public site
Purpose

To indicate your agreement with this unit of description being made publicly available on the The Community Archive website.

Type of field

Tick box

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Ticking the box indicates your acceptance that the unit of description will be published to the public website.
  • Unticking this box will result in this unit of description not being visible to the public.
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Describing an item – the fields

Overview of fields

The following fields are mandatory when describing and publishing an item in The Community Archive:

  • Part of collection / series
  • Title
  • Creator
  • Dates covered
  • Resource type and medium

The following fields are optional:

  • This is one of our favourites
  • Your reference number
  • Description
  • Extent
  • Language of material
  • Access conditions
  • Physical characteristics
  • Location of original
  • Archival history
  • Finding aids
  • Related links
  • Image(s)
  • Places (LINZ)
  • Other locations
  • People & organisations
  • Subjects
  • Māori subjects
  • Ethnic groups
  • Waka
  • Iwi
  • Hapū
  • Whānau
  • Tipuna
  • Awa / moana
  • Maunga
  • Keywords
  • Public tags
  • Publish to The Community Archive public site
  • Publish to Digital New Zealand
  • Publish to Matapihi
This is one of our favourites
Purpose

To mark an item as a favourite. Ticking it will mean the item is added to the pool of rotating items to display on the homepage.

Type of field

Tick box

Optional / mandatory Optional – contingent on inclusion of a digital image of the item.
Rules and examples
  • Tick this box if this item is particularly noteworthy and of significance in terms of your holdings.
  • You must only tick this box if you are including an image for the item.
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Part of collection / series
Purpose

To identify the collection or series to which this item belongs.

Type of field

Dropdown list – only shows your collections and series.

Optional / mandatory Mandatory
Rules and examples
  • All items must belong to either a collection or a series.
  • Before adding items, make sure you have created the collection or series to which it belongs
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Title
Purpose

To name the item.

Type of field

Free text field, 128 characters.

Optional / mandatory Mandatory
Rules and examples
  • The title helps researchers to understand what the record is, and what it contains.
  • If the record has a meaningful formal title, then use this. A formal title will often have been given by the creator and be written on the record. For example:

    Tauranga Rate Payers Association Minute Book
     
  • If a formal title exists but it will not help researchers to understand the series or collection, then modify or supplement it. Additions should be to a formal title should be placed in square brackets. For example:

    Photo of Bob [Robert Atherington] at the beach
     
  • If the item does not have a formal title, then make one up. Made up titles should be in square brackets, and should be as full of meaning as possible, to help researchers discover and understand the record. They should give information about the function, purpose or content of the record. For example:

    [Speech notes - Whangarei Artists Exhibition opening]
     
  • Avoid vague titles. For example:

    Unidentified photo
     
ISAAR (CPF) reference

3.1.2 Title

Creator
Purpose

To identify the creator(s) of the item. Record the name of the organisation(s) or the individual(s) responsible for the creation, accumulation and maintenance of the records in the item.

Type of field

Pick from list field – pick from existing list or add a new value(s) to the list. 64 characters.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • For individuals, the format should be [surname], [first names] [(year of birth year of death)]. If either birth date or death year is unknown, leave blank. For example:

    Lucas, Helen (1931 1999)

    or

    Arculus, Arthur W., (1926- )

    or

    Amundson, Betty
     
  • For organisations enter the authorised name of the organisation.
  • If you don’t know who the creator is, enter unknown.
  • Multiple creators where appropriate.
  • Avoid repetition across levels of description. For example, if you provide a creator at series level, there is no need to repeat that creator at item level unless the creator is actually different at item level.
  • Provide information relevant to the level of description. For example, a series might be created by a committee, but an individual item within it might be created by John Smith.
ISAAR (CPF) reference

3.2.1 Name of creator

Dates covered (start year and end year)
Purpose

To identify and record the date(s) covered for the item.

Type of field

Validating year fields with qualifiers.

Optional / mandatory Mandatory
Rules and examples
  • Enter the start and end year e.g. 1975 to 1995. Do not use days or months.
  • If the date is within a specific year, enter the year in both the end and start year fields.
  • If only start or end year is known, enter the year that is known and use the qualifier ‘unknown’ for the other value.
  • If the date range is impossible to estimate use the qualifier ‘unknown’ for both end and start year.
  • If either end or start year (or both) is an approximate value, use the ‘circa’ qualifier.
     
ISAAR (CPF) reference

3.1.3 Date(s)

Resource type and medium
Purpose

Provides an indication of the nature or genre of the item and its medium. This is to help with both discovery and description.

Type of field

Two-tiered dropdown list. Available values are:

Resource type

Medium

Dataset

Electronic files, magnetic tapes

Interactive resource

(no sub-values)

Moving image

Films, video tapes

Physical object

Objects

Software

CDs, computer disks, DVDs

Sound

Audiotapes, gramophone records

Still image

Artworks, glass negatives, maps, microfiche, microfilms, photograph albums, photograph negatives, photograph slides, photographs, plans, postcards, posters, scrapbooks, transparencies

Text

Binders, booklets, cards, electronic files, files, legal files, loose papers, magnetic tapes, microfiche, microfilms, newspapers (or cuttings), periodicals, postcards, scrapbooks, transparencies, volumes.

Optional / mandatory Mandatory
Rules and examples
  • Dataset – examples include lists, tables and databases.
  • Interactive resource – examples include forms on Web pages, applets, multimedia learning objects.
  • Moving image – animations and moving pictures, film, animations, movies, television programmes, videos.
  • Physical object – any inanimate, three-dimensional object or substance.
  • Software – examples include a C source file, MS-Windows .exe executable, or Perl script.
  • Sound – examples include a music playback file format, an audio compact disc, and recorded speech or sounds.
  • Still image – examples include paintings, drawings, graphic designs, plans and maps. Recommended best practice is to assign the type ‘Text’ to images of textual materials.
  • Text – examples include books, letters, dissertations, poems, newspapers, articles, archives of mailing lists. Note that facsimiles or images of texts are still of the genre Text.
ISAAR (CPF) reference

3.1.5 Extent and medium of the item

Also, ‘resource type’ corresponds to the Dublin Core[7] metadata term ‘Type’.

Your reference number
Purpose

To uniquely identify the item, using the reference number or code assigned by you as the contributor.

Type of field

Free text. 64 characters.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Enter here the reference/call number or numbers normally used to locate the item within your own repository.
     
ISAAR (CPF) reference

3.1.1 Reference code

Description
Purpose

Gives the researcher an idea of what information is in the item. Summarises the context and research value or interest of the item (essentially this field briefly describes why the material is in the archive).

Type of field

Free text, 500 characters.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Provide a brief paragraph summarising the scope and content of the item.
  • This field can also expand on the information given in the fields ‘resource type’ and ‘dates covered’.
     
ISAAR (CPF) reference

3.3.1 Scope and content

Extent
Purpose

To specify the physical extent of the item.

Type of field

Free text, 64 characters.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Describe the size and quantity and other physical quantities for the item. This may include such things as dimensions of an artwork, size and number of pages in a file. For example:

    Unframed 339 x 568mm

    File of 20 loose sheets
ISAAR (CPF) reference

3.1.5 Extent and medium of the unit of description

Language of material
Purpose

To identify the language(s) used in the item.

Type of field

Multi-select dropdown list field.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • If multiple languages are used within a collection or series, use the multi-select dropdown list to select multiple languages, for example:

    English
    Māori
ISAAR (CPF) reference

3.4.3 Language / scripts of material.

Access conditions
Purpose

To provide information on the legal status or other regulations that restrict or affect access to the item.

Note: This applies primarily to viewing the material, either in a physical or digital form. If the description itself has restricted access, use the Publish to The Community Archive public site tick box to ensure they are not published.

Type of field

Free text, 255 characters.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Specify the law or legal status, contract, regulation or policy that affects access. For example:

    Material restricted by terms of donor’s deed of gift

    Access only with the permission of the Chairperson of the Marae Committee
  • Indicate the extent of the period of closure and the date at which the material will open when appropriate, for example:

    Patient records contain private data; records are closed for 50 years from date of creation.
     
  • If this field is left blank, it will be assumed that there are no restrictions.
     
ISAAR (CPF) reference

3.4.1 Conditions governing access

Physical characteristics
Purpose

To provide information about any important physical characteristics or technical requirements that affect use of the item.

Type of field

Free text, 255 characters.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Describe physical characteristics that affect use of the item, for example:

    Due to fire damage has some black marking

     
  • Note any software and/or hardware requirements required to access the unit, for example:

    Videotape is in 1/2 inch helical open reel-to-reel format.
ISAAR (CPF) reference

3.4.4 Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Location of original
Purpose

To indicate the existence, location, availability and / or destruction of originals where the item consists of copies.

Type of field

Free text, 255 characters.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • f the original of the item is available, record its location, together with any significant control numbers. For example:

    The originals are located at Central Archives, Suva, Fiji
     
  • If the originals no longer exist, or their location is unknown, give that information, for example:

    The original of file item 81645 was withdrawn some time after August 1988, and its location is not known. A photocopy of the file has been placed in the collection in lieu of the original.
     
  • If the collection is held privately, do not supply names and addresses but note that the original is in private hands and keep the address in your institutions filing system.
ISAAR (CPF) reference

3.5.1 Existence and location of originals

Archival history
Purpose

To provide information on the history of the item that is significant for its authenticity, integrity and interpretation.

Type of field

Free text, 500 characters.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Record the successive transfers of ownership, responsibility and / or custody of the item and indicate those actions that have contributed to its present structure and arrangement such as history of the arrangement, production of contemporary finding aids, and re-use of the records for other purposes. For example:

    Letters written by Herbert Whittaker and mailed to Sydney Johnson remained in the custody of Johnson until his death when they were returned/ bequeathed to Whittaker and now constitute part of his collection.
ISAAR (CPF) reference

3.2.3 Archival history

Finding aids
Purpose

To identify any finding aids to the item.

Type of field

Free text, 255 characters.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Note any finding aids that are available for researchers, either published or unpublished, in-house, or widely available, for example:

    A 31 page published finding aid is available. This finding aid is also available on the Web at http://www.nla.gov.au/ms/findaids/8822.html
ISAAR (CPF) reference

3.4.5 Finding aids.

Related links
Purpose

To provide links to other web-based resources providing information directly related to this item.

Type of field

Web address field and free text. 64 characters.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Add a meaningful description and the full address, for example:

    History of Opotiki www.teara.govt.nz/Places/BayOfPlenty/BayOfPlentyPlaces/17/en
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Places (LINZ)
Purpose

To identify those places that are pertinent to the item, and that may serve as access points to it.

Type of field

Pick from list field – pick from existing list.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Select or add places of relevance to the item, such as town, district or region of creation, or places to which the item refers. For example, if the item is a drainage plan from Timaru, add Timaru as a place.
  • You may also add geographic features or landmarks as places of relevance, for example:

    Ahuriri Railway Station

    or

    Mount Allan

    or

    Avon River
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Other locations
Purpose

To identify additional locations pertinent to the item, that are not in the Places list in the field above.

Type of field

Free text

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Select or add places of relevance that are not in the Places list in the field above. For example the name of a school or farm or overseas locations.
  • You may also add geographic features or landmarks as places of relevance, for example:

    Gallipoli

    or

    Brooklyn School

    or

    Jackson’s Farm
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

People & Organisations
Purpose

To identify people or organisations who are pertinent to the item, and who may serve as access points to it.

Type of field

Pick from list field – pick from existing list or add a new value(s) to the list.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Select or add authorised names of corporate bodies (organisations), persons or families associated with the item.
  • Use dates, place, jurisdiction, occupation, epithet and other qualifiers as appropriate to distinguish the authorised form of name from those of other entities with similar names, for example:

    Noel family, Earls of Gainsborough

    or

    Alcock, H. F. (Harry Frederick), 1919-2001

    or

    Christian Pacifist Society of New Zealand
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A but see also ISAAR (CPF) International Standard Archival Authority Record for Corporate Bodies, Persons and Families (see Further Reading section later in this manual).

Subjects
Purpose

To associate the item with subjects that it covers. Subject values in The Community Archive are sourced from the Subjects of New Zealand (SONZ) Thesaurus v 1.50.

Type of field

Pick from list field – pick from existing list.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Select subject(s) that further describe what this item is about. For example: If the item is a series of hospital (maternity) records, add as the subjects:

    Hospitals, maternity services
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Māori subjects
Purpose

To associate the item with Māori subjects that it covers. Subject values in The Community Archive are sourced from the list of Māori Subject Headings.

Type of field

Pick from list field – pick from existing list.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Subjects that you add at item level (for items belonging to this collection/series) will be automatically displayed at collection level as well, so only add subjects here that you have not already added (or will not be adding) at item level.
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Ethnic group
Purpose

To associate the item with any specific ethnic groups relevant to the unit.

Type of field

Pick from list field.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Select any ethnic groups that this item is associated with, for example: If the item is a ship’s list with immigrants from England, Ireland and Scotland, add the ethnic groups:

    English, Irish, Scottish
     
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Waka (canoe)
Purpose

To associate the item with any specific waka relevant to the unit.

Note: all Waka, Iwi and Hapū values used in The Community Archive are sourced from The Iwi Hapū Names List which was developed as part of the Māori Subject Headings Project jointly sponsored by LIANZA, Te Rōpū Whakahau and National Library of New Zealand.

Type of field

Pick from list field – pick from existing list or add a new value(s) to the list.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Select one or more names of waka that may be associated with this item, for example:

    Tokomaru
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Iwi (tribe)
Purpose

To associate the item with any specific iwi relevant to the unit (see the ‘Waka’ field for an explanation of the source of this data).

Type of field

Pick from list field – pick from existing list or add a new value(s) to the list.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Select or add one or more names of iwi that may be associated with this item, for example:

    Ngā Rauru
     
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Hapū (sub-tribe)
Purpose

To associate the item with any specific hapū relevant to the unit (see the ‘Waka’ field for an explanation of the source of this data).

Type of field

Pick from list field – pick from existing list or add a new value(s) to the list.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Select or add one or more names of hapū that may be associated with this item, for example:

    Ngāti Iti
     
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Whānau (family)
Purpose

To associate the item with any specific whānau relevant to the unit.

Type of field

Pick from list field – pick from existing list or add a new value(s) to the list.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Select or add one or more names of whānau that may be associated with this item, for example:

    Ngaropo
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Tipuna (ancestor)
Purpose

To associate the item with any specific tipuna relevant to the unit.

Type of field

Pick from list field – pick from existing list or add a new value(s) to the list.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Select or add one or more names of tipuna that may be associated with this item, for example:

    Te Kooti Rikirangi
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Awa / moana (river, lake or other body of water)
Purpose

To associate the item with any specific awa or moana relevant to the unit.

Type of field

Pick from list field – pick from existing list or add a new value(s) to the list.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Select or add one or more names of awa / moana that may be associated with this item, for example:

    Wanganui / Whanganui

    or

    Hokianga
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Maunga (mountain)
Purpose

To associate the item with any specific maunga relevant to the unit.

Type of field

Pick from list field – pick from existing list or add a new value(s) to the list.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Select or add one or more names of maunga that may be associated with this item, for example:

    Hikurangi
     
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Keywords
Purpose

To add other keywords to this item, not already covered using the fields above. Adding keywords will help people find this item.

Type of field

Pick from list field – pick from existing list or add a new value(s) to the list.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Use this field to add any other keywords that have not already been added using the other ‘associated with’ fields above.
     
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Public tags
Purpose

To allow site visitors to add additional keywords (tags) that will help others to search for and identify this particular item. You as the contributor can monitor and edit these tags as required.

Type of field

Pick from list field – pick from existing list or add a new value(s) to the list.

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • This field is really for public use, but you can of course correct or delete tags if you feel they are wrong.
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Publish to The Community Archive public site
Purpose

To indicate your agreement with this item being made publicly available on the The Community Archive website.

Type of field

Tick box

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Ticking the box indicates your acceptance that the item will be published to the public website.
  • Unticking this box will result in this item not being visible to the public.
     
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Publish to Digital New Zealand
Purpose

To indicate your agreement with The Community Archive transferring metadata about this item to Digital New Zealand in future. This process does not yet exist, but may in future.

Type of field

Tick box

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Ticking this box indicates your acceptance that your metadata (or a subset thereof) may be shared with Digital New Zealand (www.digitalnz.org127) in future.
     
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Publish to Matapihi
Purpose

To indicate your agreement to The Community Archive transferring metadata about your item to Matapihi in future. This process does not yet exist, but may in future.

Type of field

Tick box

Optional / mandatory Optional
Rules and examples
  • Ticking this box indicates your acceptance that your metadata (or a subset thereof) may be shared with Matapihi (www.matapihi.org.nz128) in future.
     
ISAAR (CPF) reference

N/A

Glossary of Terms

Access point A name, term, keyword, phrase or code that may be used to search, identify and locate archival descriptions, including authority records.

Archival description The creation of an accurate representation of a unit of description and its component parts, if any, by capturing, analyzing, organising and recording information that serves to identify, manage, locate and explain archival materials and the context and records systems which produced it. This term also describes the products of the process.

Arrangement The intellectual and physical processes and results of analysing and organising documents in accordance with archival principles.

Collection An artificial assemblage of documents accumulated on the basis of some common characteristic without regard to the provenance of those documents.

Corporate body An organisation or group of persons that is identified by a particular name and that acts, or may act, as an entity.

Creator The corporate body, family or person that created, accumulated and/or maintained records in the conduct of personal or corporate activity.

Finding aid The broadest term to cover any description or means of reference made or received by an archives service in the course of establishing administrative or intellectual control over archival material.

Fonds The whole of the records, regardless of form or medium, organically created and/or accumulated and used by a particular person, family, or corporate body in the course of that creator's activities and functions.

Item The smallest intellectually indivisible archival unit, e.g., a letter, file, memorandum, report, photograph, sound recording.

Level of description The position of the unit of description in the hierarchy. In context of The Community Archive the levels are limited to collection, series, and item.

Medium The physical material, container, and/or carrier in or on which information is recorded (i.e., clay tablet, papyrus, paper, parchment, film, magnetic tape).

Provenance The relationship between records and the organizations or individuals that created, accumulated and/or maintained and used them in the conduct of personal or corporate activity.

Record Recorded information in any form or medium, created or received and maintained, by an organization or person in the transaction of business or the conduct of affairs.

Series Documents arranged in accordance with a filing system or maintained as a unit because they result from the same accumulation or filing process, or the same activity; have a particular form; or because of some other relationship arising out of their creation, receipt, or use. A series is also known as a records series.

Title A word, phrase, character, or group of characters that names a unit of description.

Unit of description A document or set of documents in any physical form, treated as an entity, and as such, forming the basis of a single description. In context of The Community Archive, this can be a collection, series, or item.

References and Further Reading

ISAD (G): General International Standard Archival Description

Second Edition, 1999. Available at www.ica.org

ISAAR (CPF): International Standard Archival Authority Record for Corporate Bodies, Persons and Families

Second Edition, 2003. Available at www.ica.org

ISDIAH: International Standard for Describing Institutions with Archival Holdings

First Edition, 2008. Available at www.ica.org

Iwi-Hapū Names List, September 2007, National Library of New Zealand, http://iwihapu.natlib.govt.nz/iwi-hapu

Ngā Ūpoko Tukutuku / Māori Subject Headings, updated September 2008, National Library of New Zealand, http://mshupoko.natlib.govt.nz/mshupoko

Subjects of New Zealand (SONZ) Thesaurus v 1.50, 2006, State Services Commission, http://www.e.govt.nz/standards/nzgls/thesauri/sonz/sonz150.pdf

Footnotes

[1] The full list of regions and districts is available from Local Government Online, see http://www.localgovt.co.nz/site/Local_Government/find_a_council/by_region/byregionmenu.aspx

[2] The full list of regions and districts is available from Local Government Online, see http://www.localgovt.co.nz/site/Local_Government/find_a_council/by_region/byregionmenu.aspx

[3] LINZ Gazetteer of Official Geographic Names - http://www.linz.govt.nz/placenames/find-names/nz-gazetteer-official-names/index.aspx

[4] Subjects of New Zealand (SONZ) Thesaurus v 1.50, 2006, available at http://www.e.govt.nz

[5] Māori Subject Headings, last updated September 2008 jointly sponsored by LIANZA, Te Rōpū Whakahau and the National Library of New Zealand. Available at http://mshupoko.natlib.govt.nz/mshupoko

[6] Māori Subject Headings, last updated September 2008 jointly sponsored by LIANZA, Te Rōpū Whakahau and the National Library of New Zealand. Available at http://mshupoko.natlib.govt.nz/mshupoko

[7] Dublin Core Metadata Initiative, DCMI Metadata Terms, 1995-2009. See http://www.dublincore.org/documents/dcmi-terms/#H7